Lok Sabha Bypoll Results 2018 Live Updates: BJP wins Palghar, NCP bags Bhandara-Gondia


Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Gavit Rajendra Dhedya has won the bypoll in Palghar Lok Sabha constituency while the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has emerged victorious in Bhandara-Gondia seat in Maharashtra. In Uttar Pradesh, Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) leader Tabassum Hasan defeated Mriganka Singh of the BJP in Kairana. BJP’s ally Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) is leading against Naga People’s Front (NPF) in Nagaland Lok Sabha bypoll.

Reacting to the results in Palghar, the Shiv Sena hit out at the BJP, challenging it to contest elections through ballot papers and not Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

The counting of votes for bypolls of four high-stake Lok Sabha seats – Kairana, Bhandara-Gondia and Palghar and Nagaland parliamentary constituency – began at 8 am on Thursday. The results of these Lok Sabha constituencies are being seen as a precursor to the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019.

Repolling at the four Lok Sabha constituencies took place on Wednesday, May 30. The voter turn-out in Kairana was 61 per cent while Bhandara-Gondia Lok Sabha recorded 45 per cent turnout and Nagaland 44.68 per cent.

The bypolls in Kairana were necessitated after the seat fell vacant due to BJP leader Hukum Singh’s death. Bypolls to Maharashtra’s Palghar, a reserved seat, was necessitated following sitting BJP MP Chintaman Wanga’s death in January. In Bhandara-Gondia the bye-election was necessitated after BJP’s sitting lawmaker Nana Patole joined Congress in December 2017. In Nagaland, Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party was the representative of the lone Lok Sabha constituency in Nagaland. He quit in February to contest in the Assembly elections.

Leave A Reply