Former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s condition stable, responding to treatment: AIIMS


NEW DELHI: The All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) on Tuesday said that former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s condition is stable.

He is responding well to the treatment and is on injectable antibiotics, the doctors attending Vajpayee at the AIIMS said.

”All vital parameters are stable. He will continue to be in hospital till the infection is controlled,” the hospital said in a medical bulletin released on the former prime minister’s health.
The BJP patriarch was admitted to AIIMS on Monday and is being treated for urinary tract infection.

Earlier, the hospital had said that Vajpayee was admitted for a routine check-up and that his condition was stable. A team of doctors under the supervision of AIIMS director Randeep Guleria had been attending to the nonagenarian leader, a statement from the hospital had said.

A host of leaders including Prime Minister Narendra Modi had visited the ailing BJP leader at the hospital. The PM met the doctors and enquired about the well-being of Vajpayee. He also met his family members and spent nearly 50 minutes at the hospital.

View image on Twitter

BJP veteran LK Advani, BJP president Amit Shah, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Health Minister JP Nadda, Environment Minister Harsh Vardhan and Congress chief Rahul Gandhi were among those who paid a visit to the ailing leader on Monday.

As news of the former PM’s health spread, many, including political leaders and common people prayed for his recovery.

On 25 December 2014, Vajpayee was awarded the Bharat Ratna – India’s highest civilian honour.

The then President Pranab Mukherjee had conferred the award to Vajpayee at his residence on 27 March 2015.

Vajpayee, who was PM briefly in 1996 and then from 1998 to 2004, has retreated from active politics over the last few years due to failing health conditions. He was the first non-Congress PM to serve a full five-year term. Along with Advani, Vajpayee took the BJP from two seats in the Lok Sabha to power at the Centre.

He first entered the Lok Sabha in 1957. He was then elected to the 5th, 6th and 7th Lok Sabha and again to the 10th, 11th 12th and 13th and to Rajya Sabha in 1962 and 1986. In 2004, he won from Lucknow in Uttar Pradesh for the fifth time consecutively.

Leave A Reply